On Matters That Matter

The man who removes a mountain begins by carrying away small stones

The First Step

with 2 comments

I’ve been in journalism for about 16 years now. Started off with a sports desk and then never went anywhere near it for almost 14 years. All these 14 years though I have never been able to watch sports without being on the edge of my seat.

After my first job in 1994, where I had covered a Ranji Trophy match, I wrote again on cricket after the acrimonious Sydney Test in 2008. Some colleagues and a lot of friends had been goading me for a few years that I should seriously consider sports writing; not that I was showing any signs but because I was immersed in reading sports pieces from around the world as a matter of routine. I have willingly been a desk person throughout and so the byline has never been the driving factor in my career. I was thoroughly enjoying being a spectator and a fan in my personal life; so it really didn’t matter that I was not doing cricket copies at work.

It all changed in my last job as a deputy editor with a Delhi-based newspaper, where I from within felt a ripe urge to write about cricket. I was enjoying the game and also looking forward to any opportunity to write about it. I was liking the balance of writing about cricket as opposed to no balance when I am watching it. My weird ways and unexplainable routines while watching a good Test match or a thrilling Grand Slam encounter are a source of great entertainment for my family, even my two-year-old son finds it funny — one day he embarrassed me and made everyone else laugh when he was jumping behind my back imitating my excitement while seeing a match.

So with the idea of being the owner of my balancing act, last night I took the first steps towards starting my blog. Being an owner also gives me the freedom to rummage in the past, reflect the present or talk of the future, and that really broadens the horizon. In my research to set up the blog I found a very apt analogy to the kind of attitude that makes a new blog possible; just start it and see where it leads. It is like driving in the night with the visibility just being 100 metres because of heavy fog; so one has to drive those 100 metres first to see what lies ahead. In my case this backdrop to the blog are the first 100 metres.

Written by Deepan Joshi

June 19, 2009 at 5:19 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The first step breaks the barrier that we create ourselves. All the best for your sports blog.

    Rajesh Joshi

    June 24, 2009 at 2:58 pm

  2. Well, well, well…. good for you. Getting back to what you always loved is the best thing that can happen. Will keep an eye on the blogs ..

    Rahul

    July 1, 2009 at 11:02 am


Leave a Reply

